Uncategorized

My Favorite 2014 Reads

Though it was incredibly hard to pick only ten, these are my favorite books that I read for the first time this year. Note: They are not in any type of order of favorites – that would be impossible since they were all incredible!

13511668

1. A Change of Fortune by Jen Turano

I can, in no way, express how amazing this book is (and the writer herself)! I don’t think I’ve laughed so much while reading a novel. Jen has an incredible gift as a writer and creates some of the most amazing and memorable characters – she is also a super fun person with whom I’ve had some great conversations with. If you love historical fiction and need something that will keep you on the edge of your seat but makes you fall off from laughing so hard, this is it!

mystubbornheart

2. My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade

I used to be a historical fiction girl for a long period of time until I picked up My Stubborn Heart. I decided to try something new one night and found this book nestled in my iBooks – let’s just say I didn’t sleep that night. Ever since then, I’ve been devouring Becky’s amazing books and am now obsessed!

6

3. The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen

This is Julie’s best book yet! It’s a regency mixed with romance, mystery, and suspense – it could not have been any better. It reminds me of a combination of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility and Northanger Abbey. She even hid a Pride and Prejudice quote in it which you should be on the look out for if you are a Pride and Prejudice fan – and she promised to do the same for me in her upcoming novel Lady Maybe… YAY!!

4

4. Meant to Be Mine by Becky Wade

And we’re back to Becky!! I read Becky’s other two books before this (My Stubborn Heart and Undeniably Yours) and was almost hesitant to pick this up because I thought I wouldn’t be fond of the story (cowboys and a Las Vegas wedding? Yeah, not really my thing) but I was SO wrong! I am so in love with this story! It’s a definite must read.

5

5. The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson

Melanie writes the best fairytale re-tellings on the planet! Honestly, I’ve never been fond of fantasy/fairytale fiction but these are most definitely an exception! The Princess Spy is based off of The Frog Prince by the Brothers Grimm and is a wonderful and suspenseful book. Some of the characters in here have stories of their own so be sure to check out her other books: The Healer’s Apprentice (Sleeping Beauty), The Merchant’s Daughter (Beauty and the Beast), The Fairest Beauty (Snow White), and The Captive Maiden (Cinderella).

18008075

6. The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen

First off, isn’t that cover gorgeous?! This was one of the first books of Julie Klassen’s that I read and it was perfect! One thing about her books I love is that I learn more about the 19th century every time I read them – in this one it was dancing masters. Note to the Austen fans: Look for the Pride and Prejudice quote that was cleverly put in one of the scenes and also check out the back cover to see if you recognize the manor.

7

7. A Match of Wits by Jen Turano

Jen! Jen! Jen! I get giddy every time I read her name or see her book covers! I was ecstatic when I found out Jen was finally writing Zayne and Agatha’s story (characters who were constantly nipping at each other in the first three books – A Change of Fortune, A Most Peculiar Circumstance, and A Talent for Trouble – but were obviously attracted to each other). This was an awesome story and a bit different from her other three which I loved! Now only a couple more weeks until her first book – After A Fashion – in her new series is released. I’m so excited!!

9780764210969

8. Death by the Book by Julianna Deering

Usually I like 19th century historical fiction but I had to make an exception when I started reading Julianna Deering’s Drew Farthering series. This is the second book in her series, coming after Rules of Murder, and it was so suspenseful! I could not put it down! It’s definitely a must read!

9

9. Dear Mr. Knightely by Katherine Reay

More Jane Austen! Yay! I love this book so much! I need to read it again. In the beginning I wasn’t  fond of the idea that it was being told in letter form, but once I started to read it I actually began to like it. It tells the story of a girl going for a degree in journalism who adores classics and lives through her books. She earns a scholarship from an unknown donor to go to college for free under the condition that she has to write him letters about her progress. I think what intrigued me was the fact that she and I have similar personalities and tastes in novels.

10

10. Love Comes Calling by Siri Mitchell

This book set in the roaring twenties is another suspenseful story that is definitely worth the read. The thing I love about the main character, Ellis, is that she has ADHD and struggles with it throughout the book giving her something in herself to overcome.

*Book covers borrowed from Goodreads*

Leave a Reply

