Book Review

Book Review: After A Fashion by Jen Turano

“It was now Oliver’s staunch belief that ladies – more specifically, Miss Harriet Peabody – had been put on earth in order to create havoc with his well-organized life.”

After A Fashion Cover

Series: A Class of Their Own (Book 1)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher: 
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
March 3, 2015
Number of pages: 
346

From the publisher:

“After years of working in a millinery shop, Miss Harriet Peabody dreams of the day when she’ll open up her own shop and sell re-fashioned gowns to independent working women like herself. When a delivery errand goes sadly awry, her job—and her chance at saving enough for her shop—is at stake all due to a rather unfortunate misunderstanding with a customer.

Mr. Oliver Addleshaw enjoys a certain position in society, but his real aim is to follow in the footsteps of men like Cornelius Vanderbilt. On the verge of his biggest business deal yet, he learns his potential partner prefers to deal with men who are settled down and respectably married. As matters stand, Oliver’s ex not-quite-fiancée recently became unhinged and lost a poor shop girl her job. Oliver feels bad for the hapless Harriet and, hoping to kill two birds with one stone, asks for her help in making a good impression in his business deal.

Harriet dives into the circles of high society head first, only to find that her love of fashion can’t make her fashionable. She’ll never truly fit into Oliver’s world, but just as she’s ready to call off the fake engagement, fancy dinners, and elegant balls, a threat from her past forces both Oliver and Harriet to discover that love can come in the most surprising packages.”

My Review:

It’s true. Love can come in the most surprising packages. The UPS man brought my new-found love today:

IMG_5262

😉

Is there anything on this planet more exciting than finding that on your doorstep?

If you answered “Yes” to that question then you are wrong. You just need to sit there in your wrongness and be wrong.

If you answered “No” then you deserve a virtual high-five. Ready? *Virtual high-five*

You’re awesome.

I was so excited for the release of this book, I had a countdown.

It’s true.

IMG_5264

See, I told you!

Seriously though, finding that waiting for me was like Christmas morning. I ripped it open so fast, there’s not much left of the package.

From that moment, I was curled up in my bed, holding onto every word, enveloping myself in every page – I was removed from our world and transported into the 19th century with Harriet and Oliver.

I have read hundreds of books in my short lifetime but I have never stumbled across an author that comes close to Jen Turano in terms of humor, talent, and creativity. She has an incredible way with words where you fall in love with every single character of her’s right from the start. You will also find yourself laughing so hard you will fall over and get strange looks from anyone in your presence but then the next moment you will be overcome with tears and emotions.This was especially the case with After A Fashion. Without giving away spoilers I’ll say, there was this point in the book where one of the characters sympathizes with a group of people and does an outrageous act of kindness. I was in tears. I had to close the book for a moment to get a hold of my emotions, then soon enough I’m laughing my head off because of something one of the characters said or did. I’m not one to cry often during books so that should say something about the talent of Jen Turano.

Another element about Jen’s books that I admire are her characters. In After A Fashion her heroine, Harriet Peabody, is incredibly fiesty, stubborn, but soft-hearted and sweet at the same time. Jen has the talent of adding quirks and flaws to her characters that make them so much more admirable. Her storyline is extremely creative! One that, in my opinion, only she is capable of coming up with. The way it flows mixed with wit, humor, and action is pure perfection.

One last thing, isn’t that cover gorgeous? I was swooning the first time I laid eyes on it! I spend time I could be using wisely staring at it for minutes. Honestly, I cannot say one bad thing about this book except for the fact that it ruined my life (More about that here).

I know.

I have been gushing and fangirling but I cannot recommend this book enough! If you are looking for some clean, historical, Christian fiction that makes you laugh hysterically and cry puddles on the same page, this is it!!

This novel is extremely clean without any swearing or bad language. Other than some kissing and brief romantic content, there isn’t much to be concerned about as far as inappropriate material goes.

I give this book 5/5 stars for creativity, humor, wit, and a writing style that will sweep you off your feet from the very beginning.

Find After a Fashion on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Baker Publishing Group

Other Books by Jen Turano:

Gentleman of Her Dreams (A Novella)

A Change of Fortune

A Most Peculiar Circumstance

A Talent for Trouble

A Match of Wits

In Good Company (Coming July 2015)

Connect with Jen Turano:

Jen’s Website

Jen’s Facebook Page

Jen’s Goodreads

*I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Bethany House for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Jen Turano’s Facebook page*

4 thoughts on “Book Review: After A Fashion by Jen Turano

Leave a Reply

