Book Review

Book Review: With Every Breath by Elizabeth Camden

“I’m going to need help, and I need someone who is fearless. Someone who isn’t afraid to stand up to dragons and battle them day after day. Our results may not show promise for years. Our patients will die. There will be days when you feel so beaten down, you’ll want to crawl home and give up. But I’ll need you to get up, dust yourself off, and be ready to wage battle the next day.” He locked eyes with her. “I need someone who wants to win as badly as I do. That is why I want you for this job.”
With Every Breath Cover

Genre: Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher:
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
August 5, 2014
Number of pages: 
360

From the Publisher:

“In the shadow of the nation’s capital, Kate Livingston’s respectable life as a government worker is disrupted by an encounter with the insufferable Trevor McDonough, the one man she’d hoped never to see again. A Harvard-trained physician, Trevor never showed the tiniest flicker of interest in Kate, and business is the only reason he has sought her out now.

Despite her misgivings, Kate agrees to Trevor’s risky proposal to join him in his work to find a cure for tuberculosis. As Kate begins to unlock the mysteries of Trevor’s past, his hidden depths fascinate her. However, a shadowy enemy lies in wait and Trevor’s closely guarded secrets are darker than she ever suspected.

As revelations from the past threaten to destroy their careers, their dreams, and even their lives, Trevor and Kate find themselves in a painfully impossible situation. With everything to lose, they must find the strength to trust that hope and love can prevail over all.”

My Review:

Elizabeth Camden possesses a certain talent that I have never come across from any other author – she can take a historical happening and make it interesting. If I picked up a book or article about tuberculosis during the 19th century, I probably wouldn’t be able to finish the first paragraph. If I pick up one of Elizabeth Camden’s books dealing with tuberculosis; a missing ship; or the opium trade; I want to know more and wish there were more to the story by the time I finish the book. I set her books down with, not only a love of the storyline and characters, but with more knowledge about the time period than I had before.

In my opinion, this book is the best of Elizabeth Camden’s works! The witty banter and relationship between Kate and Trevor reminded me so much of Anne and Gilbert from the Anne of Green Gables series by Lucy Maud Montgomery. Because of the constant sarcasm and wit involved, there was never a dull moment in this book. There were also multiple cliff-hangers and plot-twists that left my jaw-dropping constantly out of utter surprise.

I will never get over how amazing this book was! It’s definitely one of the greatest books I’ve ever picked up!

I would read this book until it fell apart, it was that remarkable!

Now you need to read it.

Right now.

Go!

Now!

Go rent it from the library, buy it, sneak it from your friend’s shelf….. do anything you have to in order to read it!

Except for stealing.

I can’t even believe you thought of that!

Don’t steal.

Stealing is bad.

Rating:

This novel is extremely clean without any swearing or bad language. Other than some kissing and brief romantic content, there isn’t much to be concerned about as far as inappropriate material goes.

I would recommend this to everyone who likes historical fiction, witty and sarcastic banter, and an enrapturing story.

I give this book 5/5 stars for hilarious sarcasm and wit, incredible in-depth historical research, creativity, and well-developed characters.

Find With Every Breath on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Baker Publishing Group

Other Books by Elizabeth Camden:

The Lady of Bolton Hill

The Rose of Winslow Street

Against the Tide

Into the Whirlwind

Beyond All Dreams

Until the Dawn 

Connect with Elizabeth Camden:

Elizabeth’s Website

Elizabeth’s Facebook Page

Elizabeth’s Goodreads

*I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Bethany House for the privilege to review this book! *

*With Every Breath cover borrowed from Bethany House Publisher’s website: bakerpublishinggroup.com/bethanyhouse.com* 

Leave a Reply

