YA Book Review

YA Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

“It’s always the fear of looking stupid that stops you from being awesome.”
From the publisher:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.”

My Review:

The Bachelor + The Hunger Games + Twilight = The Selection

When I saw the cover I really wanted to read this book – I didn’t even look into what it was about.

I have mixed feelings about it, though.

There’s a lot of cute scenes that made me squeal and Prince Maxon is one of the most adorable and compassionate male characters that I’ve ever come across!

But

I feel like there was some serious copying here.

First, this prince has thirty-five girls come to his palace to glamor up so that he can choose one as a wife. This process is known as the Selection and is televised live for the country to see. The prince eliminates the girls in stages until only a few remain and chooses one girl from all of them.

Are you connecting the dots?

Also, there’s a television host that reminds me way too much of Ceaser Fickerman from The Hunger Games.

Then on top of all that, there’s so much love-triangle drama that reminds me a lot of Twilight.

Worst of all – the ending. It ends on the most annoying cliffhanger, it was a tad frustrating.

In all honesty, I love a book with a tough female heroine like Katniss Everdeen or Tris Prior that stands up against society and has a little action – I didn’t get that from America Singer. She seemed to only care about who she liked better – Prince Maxon or Aspen.

This book was obviously not my type of book, but I wouldn’t want to dissuade someone from picking up a book they might enjoy even if I didn’t. So here are some positives about the book that I did like:

The characters sacrifice themselves and their futures to do the right thing. They also hold a special love for their families which I admired.

Maxon was a total sweetheart, I adored his character so much!

The plot was intriguing and the society the characters lived in was quite interesting.

I adored America’s and Maxon’s families, they were all amazing and so sweet!! Some of the girls in the Selection were great characters and had well-developed personalities.

Spiritual Content:

When America is filling out her application for the Selection, her mother says, “Oh, the both of you! Why don’t you just write down that you’re an absolute heathen!”

sexual content:

The book is about a prince who selects thirty-five girls to come live at his palace so that he might choose a wife from one of them. So, there’s a lot of kissing and romantic gestures throughout the novel.

*SPOILER* When America is chosen for the Selection, she meets with many people from the palace who help her with preparations before she leaves. One man tells her, “When you are invited to do something with Prince Maxon, you do not refuse. No matter what it is. Dinner, outing, kisses – more than kisses….” He also asks her to confirm that she is a virgin.

During America’s stay at the palace, their are a couple rebel attacks that happen leaving America’s maid distraught. We soon find that during a rebel attack in the past, a rebel got a hold of her maid and almost raped her.

One of the girls at the palace says to America, “Please. A girl has more than one way she can pay for what she wants.”

There are quite a few kisses that take it too far and get to be incredibly detailed. I skipped over a few of them because of how uncomfortable they made me feel.

America has a difficulty choosing between two men so she has a tendency to lead them both on.

Two characters talk about getting married.

Violent content:

There are two (I believe) scenes where rebels try to storm the palace but it never gets gruesome. People wait the attacks out while they hear banging and loud noises in the background, then the attack is over. It’s not frightening at all.

crude or profane language:

Seven uses of the d–n word.

Four uses of h-ll.

Several uses of words like idiot, moron, and stupid.

drug or alcohol content:

A lady gets drunk and a few people drink wine.

Rating:

I give this book 3/5 stars.

 Find The Selection on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

HarperCollins

Connect with Kiera Cass:

Kiera’s Website

Kiera’s Facebook Page

Kiera’s Goodreads

Other Books by Kiera Cass:

The Elite

The One

The Heir (Coming May 2015)

*Reviewer’s copy. All opinions are my own.*

*Photo borrowed from The Selection Facebook page*

3 thoughts on “YA Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. Great review. Very thorough! On a personal note, I adore the name Maxen. It’s the name of a 1st century Roman general, and I used it for my medieval hero in my 1996 Bantam Book, Saxon Bride. In fact, I adored it so much that we named our second son Maxen. Interesting alternate spelling–Maxon. Thank you, Rachael.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s very unique, isn’t it? I adore the name! Ooh! I love that you named both your character and your son Maxen! Thank YOU, Tamara!

      Like

Leave a Reply

