Interview

Interview With Pepper Basham – Part I

I was beyond excited when the lovely debut author, Pepper Basham, agreed to let me interview her! Unless you haven’t been paying attention to my blog and Facebook page lately, you will recognize her as the author of her new release, The Thorn Bearer. I bombarded her with questions so I decided to split it up into two parts (I know it’s a little long but it is so worth it! Plus, if you stick around you’ll be in for a fun surprise!)

About Pepper:

pepperbarnsmilePepper D. Basham has been telling tales ever since she was a little girl and fell in love with storytelling while listening to her granny’s amazing stories. A native of the Blue Ridge Mountains, mom of five, speech-language pathologist, and lover of chocolate, Pepper enjoys sprinkling her native Appalachian culture into her fiction wherever she can. She currently resides in the lovely mountains of Asheville, NC, where she works with kids who have special needs, searches for unique hats, and plots new ways to annoy her wonderful friends at her group writing blog, The Writer’s Alley. She is represented by Julie Gwinn of Seymour Literary Agency. Her debut novel, The Thorn Bearer, arrives on May 7th 2015 and is the first book in the Penned in Time series. Her first contemporary romance, A Twist of Faith, is slated to release later the same year. You can find her at www.pepperdbasham.com or follow her writing antics on her Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pepper-D-Basham or Twitter at https://twitter.com/pepperbasham .

The interview:

*Drumroll*

*Enter Pepper*

Thanks for having me on your blog, Rachael. You are such a sweetheart! You’re just bubbling over with encouragement and fun!

Aww, thank you!! I’m so excited to have you!

It’s done! It’s published! People will be buying and reading your book very soon! How are you feeling about all of this? Are you prepared for the fame? 😉

Well, it’s pretty overwhelming right now…and a little terrifying. I think, as a writer, you tell yourself all sorts of things about how ‘it’s going to be when you’re published’, but I don’t think I was quite prepared for the scary part. Words can be in print a very long time. (shiver) But I’m also excited that these characters and this story are finally able to touch people’s lives. So there’s the funny emotional mix of it.

That’s understandable – but it’s an amazing book so I don’t think there’s anything to worry about! There is most definitely no doubt that this book will touch many lives. It sure did touch mine!

Let’s start off with talking about your debut novel, TheTheThornbearer 500x750 (1) Thorn Bearer, what is it about?

In a word? Forgiveness. In more than a word? Hmm…let me see:  A wounded woman with a past to hide and an unpredictable future to salvage struggles to keep bitterness from stealing the hope of a romance with her best friend while nursing the wounded of WWI.

What a wonderful way to put it!

What were some interesting facts you learned while writing The Thorn Bearer?

Oh goodness, where to begin? The whole story of the Lusitania was fascinating. I loved learning about how the people of Queenstown, Ireland opened up their homes for the survivors of the Lusitania and their grief for the dead. Amazing stories about those wonderful Irish! (I have Irish ancestry so I didn’t need another reason to love the Irish, but I’ll take one)

Oooh! Those are interesting facts!

What do you hope readers will take away from your new book?

Well, besides enjoying a good story? I want them to discover the power and ultimate freedom found in forgiveness.
What other new writing projects do you have on the horizon?

Well, this book is the first in a 3-book series, so in 2016 I’ll have books 2 and 3 arriving. I also have a contemporary romance novel, A Twist of Faith, coming in December 2015. It’s a modern day version of My Fair Lady and such a fun story. As a speech-language pathologist, I really enjoyed writing it. I also hope to have a middle-reader fantasy book I’ve coauthored with some fantastic guys in New Zealand coming out at the end of 2015. I’m still waiting on a release month for it.

Now this is an answer that I have to comment on! I was fortunate enough to read “A Twist of Faith” and WOW! That book is AMAZING! You guys will be hearing a lot about if from me when we near its release date!

How can we, as readers, support and encourage you both as personally and as an author?

Oh wow, what a great question. Well, I’d appreciate your prayers. It’s quite a daunting task to write a good novel (within a certain amount of time) and then market it

Pepper's Family
Pepper’s Family

successfully. I’d love hearing about how this story touched your heart, your funny bone, or your mind. So please share the news and the joy (if you enjoyed it, of course). And please keep buying and reading my books…as they come. I’m still hoping that many of my other stories will find publishing homes too.

Also, I’d appreciate prayers for my family. We’re still adjusting to a new move and big changes. I have some super kids! Being their mom is one of God’s greatest gifts to my life, and seeing them struggle through all the changes and sadness hurts a mama’s heart. So, personally, I ask for prayers for wisdom and guidance for my family.

After reading “The Thorn Bearer” and “A Twist of Faith” you are up at the top of my favorite authors list so you will be hearing a lot from me in the future! I’ll also be praying for you and your family!

Now because I like to have a bit of fun, I’m going to ask you some random questions!

Because I’m dying to know, when you have some time to read, who is/are your go to author(s)?

I am a HUGE Laura Frantz fan!! Not only is she a lovely person, but her writing is lyrical, poetic, descriptive, emotion, and elegant. She writes with such color and beauty, the reader is transported to those places and experiencing the journey with the characters. Amazing! For inspiration, lots of times, I’ll pick up Laura Frantz or Julie Lessman. Oh….and Siri Mitchell because she writes such intriguing and unique stories. For a laugh, I enjoy reading Janice Thompson and for sigh-worthy contemps I really like Becky Wade, Beth Vogt, or Rachel Hauck.
Eeek! So many good authors!
Are you an early bird or a night owl?

Life has forced me to be a little of both. If left to my own internal clock, I’d wake up around 7am, naturally, and go to bed around 11:30pm-ish (maybe later).

I don’t think I could ever wake up that early (yes, 7 am is classified as early for me) every day! I’ve always been a night owl!

Are you extraverted or introverted?

People think I’m all extrovert, but I actually score right in the middle on those extravert/introvert tests. And I’d agree with that. Hopefully, I’m a healthy mix.

Same here!

Name three random facts about yourself:

1. I love to drink Dr. Pepper (it tastes good and makes me feel smart)

2. I’m the first child or grandchild in my family to earn a master’s degree from college. As part of an Appalachian heritage, that’s a pretty big deal.

3. I LOVE hats!!

Awesome!!

If you could ask God one question, what would it be?

What’s your favorite color? (Because, he’s already answered all of my other questions in his Storybook and I don’t think He’d tell me when he’s returning, so…there ya go)

I love that question! It’s definitely something I wouldn’t have thought of but would be an interesting thing to know.

When they ship Styrofoam, what do they pack it in?

Bubble wrap, of course.

Super random – I know! It is impossible for me to be normal and serious. Plus, I had to see what you would say! 😉

What is your favorite accent?

Oh goodness, can I just say ‘British” so it encompasses English, Irish, Scottish, and Welsh?

Yes! I love all European accents!

Have you ever been out of the country? If so, where to? If not, where would you go?

My brother gave me a trip to England for my birthday about 7 years ago. My husband and I stayed in lovely Derbyshire for a week and enjoyed the beauties of the English countryside. My DREAM is to go back and visit Scotland and Ireland too. I have strong English and Irish genes.

You got to go to England, Scotland, AND Ireland?! Lucky! Those are some of my dream travel destinations!

Click HERE for the second part!

Check out my five star review of The Thorn Bearer here that includes links of where to buy it and the various ways to connect with the lovely Pepper Basham!

6 thoughts on “Interview With Pepper Basham – Part I

  1. Oh, love the interview and the chance to meet Rachael, too! I am such a fan of Dr. Pepper as I call her and it just goes without saying that I love her writing because she pours her very heart/soul into her books beginning with TTB. It’s truly a unique, inspiring, fresh look at forgiveness, love, and far more. I could write a novella about it:) She’s going to win many reading hearts. I’m thrilled it’s just the beginning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

