Book Review

Book Review: Take a Chance on Me by Susan May Warren

“Take a chance on God. After all, He took a chance on you.”

Take a Chance on Me Cover

Series: Christiansen Family (Book #1)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher:
Tyndale
Publication Date:
April 28, 2013
Number of pages:
400

From the Publisher:

“Darek Christiansen is almost a dream bachelor—oldest son in the large Christiansen clan, heir to their historic Evergreen Lake Resort, and doting father. But he’s also wounded and angry since the tragic death of his wife, Felicity. No woman in Deep Haven dares come near.

New assistant county attorney Ivy Madison simply doesn’t know any better when she bids on Darek at the charity auction. Nor does she know that when she crafted a plea bargain three years ago to keep Jensen Atwood out of jail and in Deep Haven fulfilling community service, she was releasing the man responsible for Felicity’s death. All Ivy knows is that the Christiansens feel like the family she’s always longed for. And once she gets past Darek’s tough exterior, she finds a man she could spend the rest of her life with. Which scares her almost as much as Darek learning of her involvement in his wife’s case.

Caught between new love and old grudges, Darek must decide if he can set aside the past for a future with Ivy—a future more and more at risk as an approaching wildfire threatens to wipe out the Christiansen resort and Deep Haven itself.”

My Review:

I…

Umm…

Wow.

I…

I’m speechless. Utterly speechless.

I am also emotionally traumatized by this book and must now go curl up in a ball and cry!

The story is so sad and emotionally grabbing but so heartfelt and lovely at the same time!

I won’t give anything away here, but the story is told from four different perspectives and I think it really helped understand some of the conflicts by seeing it from multiple points of view. Usually, I can’t handle more than two points of view but the book was crafted so well that it’s really obvious who’s point of view you’re reading from and it doesn’t get confusing.

There are four main characters it focuses on: Derek Christiansen, Ivy Madison, Claire Gibson, and Jensen Atwood.

Derek is a broken man who built up a lot of anger since his wife died, but boy is he a sweetheart under all his roughness! The protective, adoring love he has for his son made me fall in love with him right away! I also loved the nickname he was given – but I’m not going to give it away because there’s a cute story behind it, so you’re just going to have to read it to find out. 😉

Oh, Jensen! The broken, torn-apart, lonely man who made me tear up just about every time he appeared. Just thinking about all that he went through and all that he puts himself through makes my heart break! I didn’t like him in the beginning because, like every character in Deep Haven, I assumed things about him without truly understanding what went on. Now I feel absolutely guilty! He’s an amazing character!

Ivy and Claire are pure awesome. They’re feisty, tough and independent women with heart-breaking pasts that made me want to jump in the book, give them hugs, and work everything out. I loved their personalities and fun attitudes. Their characters were well crafted and drawn out!

Take a Chance on Me is an emotionally gripping story that will have you smiling like an idiot half of the time and constantly tearing up during the other half. It is crafted with tons of plot twists that kept me turning the page to see what would happen next.

I fell in love with this story and its characters and I hope you do too.

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★

There are descriptions of Derek’s wife’s death which can be heartbreaking to read. We find that Derek got Felicity (his wife) pregnant and then decided that marrying her would be the best option. This book is a romance so there are some romantic scenes and kisses.

I loved this book so much, I want to go buy the whole series right now! I’d definitely recommend it to any mature audiences who like a emotional read.

Find Take A Chance On Me on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Tyndale

Connect with Susan May Warren:

Susan’s Website

Susan’s Facebook Page

Susan’s Goodreads

Other Books by Susan May Warren:

The Christiansen Family Collection:

Take a Chance on Me

It Had to be You

When I Fall in Love

Always on my Mind

 (Note: Susan May Warren has many other books but I chose to list the subsequent books in the Chistiansen Family Collection.)

*Reviewer’s personal copy. All opinions are my own. *

*Photo borrowed from Goodreads*

Leave a Reply

