Book Review

Book Review: “A Love Like Ours” by Becky Wade

“Where there’s God, there’s hope,” she said, “And where there’s hope, there can be healing.”

9780764211096

Series: Porter Family (Book #3)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher: 
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
May 5, 2015
Number of pages: 
352

From the Publisher:

“Former Marine Jake Porter has far deeper scars than the one that marks his face. He struggles with symptoms of PTSD, lives a solitary life, and avoids relationships.

When Lyndie James, Jake’s childhood best friend, lands back in Holley, Texas, Jake cautiously hires her to exercise his Thoroughbreds. Lyndie is tender-hearted, fiercely determined, and afraid of nothing, just like she was as a child. Jake pairs her with Silver Leaf, a horse full of promise but lacking in results, hoping she can solve the mystery of the stallion’s reluctance to run.

Though Jake and Lyndie have grown into very different adults, the bond that existed during their childhood still ties them together. Against Jake’s will, Lyndie’s sparkling, optimistic personality begins to tear down the walls he’s built around his heart. A glimmer of the hope he’d thought he’d lost returns, but fears and regrets still plague him. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend?”

My Review:

I’m not one to get emotional or cry during books; I can count on one hand the number of books that made me cry.

A Love Like Ours has just taken possession of a finger on the books-that-made-me-cry hand.

Ever since I read Undeniably Yours and Meant to Be Mine, I had been dying to read Jake’s story because he’s so reserved and you hardly learn anything about him or his character in those books.

Needless to say, I was not disappointed when I finally got to read his story!

In A Love Like Ours you get a glimpse into Jake’s past and what the experiences he faced did to him. It was heartbreaking for me to read through his thoughts and what he puts himself through every single day – I think he deserves a hug just for getting out of bed in the morning (and I’d be honored to give him that hug)! Though Bo and Ty are so charming and sweet, I definitely prefer brooding, moody, but also tender-hearted and protective Jake Porter.

Lyndie, Jake’s best friend during childhood, is one of the greatest heroines ever created in contemporary Christian fiction!! This girl is so amazing! If she were real, we would be best friends! My favorite thing about her is the crazy turns her imagination takes and the creative stories she comes up with for the children’s books that she writes. Another thing about Lyndie that I liked was her relationship with her sister, Mollie. Mollie is in a wheelchair and is unable to move, see, or even smile but Lyndie takes such good care of her and their relationship is perfect! Also, the amount of prayer that Lyndie puts into Jake’s emotional healing was powerful – she is a great role model for women.

This story is full of themes such as, forgiveness, trust, and grace. The way God worked through this story was awesome!

Becky Wade did a phenomenal job of crafting this amazing story and making it the emotionally grabbing story that it is. After reading it, I was even more appreciative of our military men and women than before – it’s eye opening to what some of them go through/ went through.

For a while, Becky Wade had the marvelous idea to donate a percentage of her earnings that she received from her book sales to the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund. Unfortunately, that just ended the other day before I had time to post my review. However, you can still donate! Be a nice human and click on the logo below to help support the men and women of the armed forces! ❤

Intrepid_Fallen_Heroes_Fund_Logo

If you just donated then you get a fist-bump.

Prepare for it.

*Awesome fist-bump*

Thank you!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

FIVE STARS!

I will be re-reading this book for sure! I don’t think I’ve loved a contemporary romance more than I love this one!

I should probably note that there are scenes with Jake suffering from his PTSD and scenes where you get a glimpse of what happened on his tour which get a little intense at times. With that being said, I would recommend this to mature audiences that can handle scenes like those.

Find A Love Like Ours on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Bethany House Publishers

Connect with Becky Wade:

Becky’s Website

Becky’s Facebook Page

Becky’s Goodreads

Other Books by Becky Wade:

My Stubborn Heart

Porter Family Series:

Undeniably Yours

Meant to Be Mine

*I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Netgalley for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Bethany House Publisher’s website*

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “A Love Like Ours” by Becky Wade

  1. Without a doubt, you ROCK, Rachael!! I’m looking forward to reading this book so much!! (right after I finish writing my next book ;-). But I’ve loved Becky Wade’s other books and am excited that she’s taken on a very tough topic in a realistic and compassionate way for others to read!!
    WOOHOOO!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Pepper!! You do too!!! And you just made my day!! =) You will LOVE it! Let me know when you finish reading it because I desperately need somebody to fangirl with!! 😉 Oooh! Good luck on the book! I’m right here if you need a different set of eyes. =D

      Like

Leave a Reply

