Book Review

Book Review: Three Little Words by Melissa Tagg (A Novella)

“You can’t let the thought of what other people expect be your compass”

9781441265128

Series: Walker Family (Book #0.5)
Genre: 
Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Novella
Publisher:
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
March 3, 2015
Number of pages:
133

From the Publisher:

“Ava Kingsley and Seth Walker might be the most unlikely friends ever. The only thing these two polar opposites have in common is a knack for wordsmithing. Back in college, they were known for their written sparring in the campus newspaper’s popular “He Says/She Says” column.

At their ten-year college reunion, they pick up right where they left off. Except this time their squabbling leads to a surprising turn: friendship and a year-long exchange of emails. So when Ava approaches a crossroads in her athletics department career in Minnesota, Seth is quick to offer the open apartment above the restaurant he’s been remodeling in Maple Valley, Iowa.

Ava doesn’t know where her career will lead her next, but she’s starting to suspect she might see Seth as more than a pen pal. Which would be exciting…except for the fact that he only sees her as a friend.

As Maple Valley grows on her, Ava wonders if there might be something here for her even though Seth is unavailable. And maybe, just maybe, after all the words the two of them have exchanged over the years, they’ll finally be able to say the three that matter most.

Three Little Words is an e-only novella that gives an exciting introduction to Melissa Tagg’s new series about the charismatic Walker family and the endearing town of Maple Valley!”

My Review:

Novellas are trying sometimes because they’re so short and can sometimes feel rushed or seem unrealistic – this was not the case with Three Little Words. I read Melissa Tagg’s first full novel, From The Start, before I read this one so I had become somewhat familiar with Ava and Seth. Though, I do wish I read this one first because it gives a more in depth look to what happened before you meet Ava and Seth in From The Start.

I loved learning about their characters and their pasts, it definitely made me love them a lot more than I did when I read From The Start. I found Ava to be super awesome with her tomboyishness and dream to become a football coach. I also loved Ava and Seth’s competitive arguing nature hilarious – it made the book much more interesting!

Two of the characters’ names made me freak out with excitement:

Autumn – Ava’s sister’s name and also my little sister’s name

Rachel – A business person who has the same name as I do!! (Except it’s spelled wrong! 😉 )

I’d definitely recommend reading this for the sheer enjoyment of it – plus, it’s free!!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★

FOUR STARS!

This novella was one of the best that I have read! I loved getting an insight into Ava and Seth’s lives and learning more about them.

One thing that I didn’t like about it was that Ava’s ending didn’t seem to be resolved. After finding out that some things wouldn’t work out, we are never told what she decides to do with her life. It frustrated me a little but hopefully I will find out more in Melissa Tagg’s future novels.

Find Three Little Words on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Bethany House Publishers

Connect with Melissa Tagg:

Melissa’s Website

Melissa’s Facebook Page

Melissa’s Goodreads

Other Books by Melissa Tagg:

Walker Family Series:

From The Start

Where Love Begins Series:

Made to Last

Here to Stay

*Reviewer’s personal copy. All opinions are my own.* *Photo borrowed from Bethany House Publisher’s website*

One thought on “Book Review: Three Little Words by Melissa Tagg (A Novella)

Leave a Reply

