Book Review

Book Review: A Matter of Trust by Lis Wiehl

When life is murder, who can you trust?

549062_1_ftc

Series: Mia Quinn (Book #1)
Genre:
Contemporary, Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
Publisher:
Thomas Nelson
Publication Date:
March 18, 2013
Number of pages: 
320

From the Publisher:

“One minute Mia Quinn is in her basement, chatting on the phone with a colleague at the prosecutor’s office. The next minute she hears a gunshot over the line, and Mia listens in horror as her colleague and friend Colleen bleeds to death.

Mia’s a natural for heading up the murder investigation, but these days it’s all she can do to hold her life together. As a new widow with a pile of debts, a troubled teenaged son, and a four-year-old who wakes up screaming at night, she needs more time with her family, not less–and working Colleen’s case will be especially demanding. But Colleen was her friend, and she needs to keep her job. So Mia reluctantly teams up with detective Charlie Carlson to investigate. But the deeper they dig, the more complications unfold–even the unsettling possibility that someone may be coming after “her.”

Lis Wiehl’s signature plot twists and relatable characters shine in this absorbing series debut . . . with an intriguing cameo from her best-selling Triple Threat series.”

My Review:

A Matter of Trust is the first book in the Mia Quinn Mysteries series.

Legal Analyst and Fox News reporter, Lis Wiehl, did an excellent job crafting a thrilling, suspenseful, mystery novel that kept me wanting to read more.

And can I just add, isn’t that cover so cool?! I wanted to read this book the moment I saw that cover!

It seems that I have been trying a lot of new genres lately aside from what I usually read. I watch a lot of action movies but why I don’t read suspense. Why? I will never really know. Maybe because I hadn’t found the right book? Well, I think I have now!

I have to say that the opening to this book was my absolute favorite part!

Here’s a glimpse:

“If life was like a play, then the director had the ultimate power. The power to blight men’s lives, or to give them what they most longed for. Even the power to utter the ultimate yes or no.”

It continues on with even more about “the play” (I didn’t want to give it all away) and it is so clever! Definitely one of my favorite opening lines in all of literature – my favorite being, “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.“, of course!

I found it intriguing to learn more about courtrooms, lawyers, prosecutors and get an in-depth look into their worlds to see how it all operates.

And Charlie! Oh, Charlie. There is a big chance that you will love Charlie! He is a hilarious character who lightens up the book quite a bit – which is definitely needed with something that deals with such heavy topics.

This book was a crazy page turner! I constantly wanted to know what was going to occur and was trying to figure out the mystery before Mia did.

I got it wrong, though…

Oh well! 😉

I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would and can’t wait to see what happens next!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ 1/2

Three and a half stars!

Law related topics aren’t really my area so I got lost in some areas and I’m not used to reading suspense so that kind of made it hard to adjust to (I don’t do well with change). However, the book was really intriguing and definitely a page turner.

If you enjoy suspense, mystery, and thrillers, this is the book for you!!

Find A Matter of Trust on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Thomas Nelson Publishers

Connect with Lis Wiehl:

Lis’s Website

Lis’s Facebook Page

Lis’s Goodreads

Other Books by Lis Wiehl:

Mia Quinn Mysteries:

A Deadly Business

Lethal Beauty

(Note: Lis Wiehl has many other books but I chose to list the subsequent books in the Mia Quinn Mysteries series.)

*Reviewer’s personal copy. All opinions are my own. *

*Photo borrowed from Thomas Nelson’s website*

One thought on “Book Review: A Matter of Trust by Lis Wiehl

Leave a Reply

