Book Review

Book Review: Steadfast Heart by Tracie Peterson

“She paused for a moment to stand and put her hand over her heart. ‘A Devastation of the heart. I shall never recover losing your friendship. We shall be forever changed. You will be gone from me… never to return.’
‘Mercy Sakes, Abrianna, you would think marriage and death were the same thing.'”

Steadfast Heart Cover

Series: Brides of Seattle (Book #1)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher: 
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
January 6, 2015
Number of pages: 
329

From the Publisher:

“Despite her spoiled upbringing, twenty-year-old Lenore Fulcher isn’t pretentious. She simply believes a marriage should be built on true love. Her father, however, thinks she’s wasted enough time searching for the perfect husband. He wants to marry her off to one of his business partners–who is seventeen years her senior–an idea that is out of the question for Lenore.

Kolbein Booth, a young lawyer from Chicago, arrives in Seattle looking for his headstrong sister, who he believes may have answered an advertisement for mail-order brides. Sick with worry, he storms into the Madison Bridal School, demanding to see his sister, only to learn she isn’t there. But Lenore Fulcher is, and something about her captures his attention.

Is this the man Lenore has been searching for? She may not have long to find out…”  

My Review:

*Note: This review will contain spoilers*

I suppose I will just get to the point and not sugar coat this review.

I wasn’t fond of this book.

There were some things I enjoyed about it and some things that I didn’t.

I loved Abrianna, Lenore’s quirky friend. She was headstrong, stubborn, and altogether fun!  She can’t cook, sew, or do any of the things a housewife is expected to do. However, she loves taking care of those less fortunate and has a heart of gold.

I also liked the elderly ladies that run the bride school Abrianna attends. They are absolutely adorable and hilarious!

But that’s all that I liked. Unfortunately.

Here’s the things I didn’t like:

1. I think that the book didn’t focus enough on the two main characters, Lenore and Kolbein. Since this book is part of a series, I think the point-of-views of the other characters should have been left for other books.

2. There wasn’t a climax or a huge problem that the main characters had to overcome. The problems they did have, seemed very frivolous and easy to conquer. There wasn’t any suspense build up or issues to resolve – it made the book incredibly slow going.

3. The book hardly focused on Kolbein going to find his sister and it seemed like he wasn’t making much of an effort while in Seattle. Then, when he did find her, it seemed too easy – there wasn’t any tension, conflict, nothing (Refer back to problem #2).

All in all, I felt the main characters in this book were shallow and I thought the romance in it was unrealistic and absolutely pathetic; I mean, really, Lenore practically swoons when she sees Kolbein and they hardly even spend time together before he proposes. The fact that everything was resolved quickly and without suspense or tension made the book boring. The ending felt unresolved and, instead of making me want to read the next book in the series, it made me feel annoyed.

I realize that authors spend so much time writing their books for our enjoyment so I don’t want to be harsh in any way, but I believe that honesty is the best policy. I have read other books by Tracie Peterson and I know for a fact what she is capable of – I was just incredibly disappointed when I read this because I know how good her other books are. So, even though I don’t necessarily recommend this book, I do recommend her as an author.

Rating:

★ ★ 1/2

Two and a half stars.

You heard my rant about all the things I didn’t like, so you already know why I don’t recommend spending your precious time reading this book.

However, I do highly recommend her as an author, especially if you like good, clean historical fiction!

Find Steadfast Heart on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Bethany House Publishers

Connect with Tracie Peterson:

Tracie’s Website

Tracie’s Facebook Page

Tracie’s Goodreads

Other Books by Tracie Peterson:

Honestly, I don’t even know what to list here. Tracie Peterson has over 20+ series and over 100 books (Impressive, I know)! I would just recommend visiting her website and find something you like!

*I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Bethany House for the privilege to review this book! *

*Book cover borrowed from Bethany House Publishers’ website and featured image borrowed from Tracie Peterson’s Facebook page.*

Leave a Reply

