Book Review

Book Review: In Good Company by Jen Turano

 “I don’t purposefully become involved with shenanigans, Mrs. Mulberry, but you should know that sometimes they just seem to happen to me.”
9780764212765

Series: A Class of Their Own (Book 2)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher: 
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
July 7, 2015
Number of pages: 
347

From the Publisher:

“After growing up as an orphan, Millie Longfellow is determined to become the best nanny the East Coast has ever seen. Unfortunately, her playfulness and enthusiasm aren’t always well-received and she finds herself dismissed from yet another position.

Everett Mulberry has quite unexpectedly become guardian to three children that scare off every nanny he hires. About to depart for Newport, Rhode Island, for the summer, he’s desperate for competent childcare.

At wit’s end with both Millie and Everett, the employment agency gives them one last chance–with each other. As Millie falls in love with her mischievous charges, Everett focuses on achieving the coveted societal status of the upper echelons. But as he investigates the suspicious circumstances surrounding the death of the children’s parents, will it take the loss of those he loves to learn whose company he truly wants for the rest of his life?”  

My Review:

This book had me like:

67806da8345ed934098c8f6680bfaf78

It was so incredible that I accidentally read for eight hours straight!

“Accidentally.” 😉

After I read Jen Turano’s book, After a Fashion, I was absolutely convinced that she wasn’t capable of writing a book any better than that. Obviously, I was wrong!

I’m so overwhelmed by the awesomeness of this book that I have no idea where to start.

Gaaah!

I suppose I’ll just be predictable and start with the plot.

If you have read Jen’s debut novel, A Change of Fortune, you will know that it is also about a governess who is responsible over two unruly children. Being that she had already written a story about a governess made me think that this one wouldn’t be near as good as that one – it’s been my personal favorite for quite a while and in my opinion, none of her books have come close to being as good as that one. I was so much in the wrong it is wrong how wrong I was (try saying that ten times fast 😉 ).

This plot is so much different than A Change of Fortune so don’t even try to compare the two.

Just don’t.

As for the characters, Millie is by far my favorite of Jen Turano’s heroines! She is hilarious, witty, spunky, clever, and zany! I wish she were real so we could hang out and cause mischief together. We would get along so well and have so much fun together. Oh, what a pair we would make! 😉

Everett Mulberry – the lead male character – is one of the most aggravatingly intriguing male characters I have ever come across. I was not fond of him in After a Fashion but he was compelling, all the same. Unlike Millie, he’s serious, cynical, and brash – but he’s appealing. You don’t often come across characters that aggravate you to the extent that you find their personality attractive – if an author is capable of doing that, then they are obviously talented – and Jen is intrepidly….errmmm.. incredibly talented!

The kids, Elizabeth and Thaddeus, touched me in a special way. Having five nieces and nephews that I am incredibly close to, I can relate to what just about every character is feeling when dealing with those kids – Lol. They’re so innocent yet mischievous at the same time and I absolutely adore them! Also, isn’t Thaddeus the most adorably perfect name in the history of ever? I love that name so much and the character even more. I want these children to be real so that I can cause mischief along with them!

As for Miss Abigail – I have a feeling that I will have the same disposition at her age. Her mischievous schemes are hilarious and she is a fun character. To prove my point, here’s my favorite quote by her:

“‘…both of you will wear what I laid out, given that I am an elderly, dear, dotty thing, whom both of you would surely hate to disappoint this evening, given the very great disappointment I’ve already suffered since you’re going to be spending the night on the… terrace.’ Abigail’s look suddenly changed from grumpy to… pathetic.'”

See.

Hilarious.

I found it really incinerating… err… I meant, invigorating…to have Lucetta appear momentarily who’s book, Playing the Part, comes out in March of 2016, and to have Harriet mentioned. They are my favorite pair of friends and I adore having them together! ❤

Because it’s my blog and I make the rules, we’re going to take a moment and stare at the incredibly beautiful cover:

Ready?

Stare!

*sigh*

It looks so perfect sitting on my shelf.

I love to admire it from afar.

To be honest, I’m worried that I haven’t ackamarackusly…no… acerbically..that’s not it… adequately (aha!) expressed how awesome this book is!

Seriously!

It’s a must read!

After I read it I was so disintegrated…

Wait…

No…

Disgruntled

That’s the word.

After I read this book, I was so disgruntled that it was over and didn’t want to pick up another. I loved it so much! I want to read it all over again!

It seems like I can’t stop mixing up words in this blog post! Most likely because sometimes I use words I don’t understand so that I can sound more photosynthesis.

😉

If you want to read a perfect book that will make you smile, laugh, and fall in love with some amazing characters, then read this one!

I can’t rhapsodomancy it enough!!!

Or…

No..

I can’t recommend it enough!!!

I hope you enjoyed this review as much as I enjoyed writing it!

I’d ask that you would take the time to read this book and recommend it to others – it’s the best book that I have read this year and I hope that many will agree with me!!

Addendum:

Upon recommendation of my good friend, Mikal, I am adding an addendum.

Yes, apparently that is a real word. A word that I have never heard of until now.

According to Google, it means: an item of additional material, typically omissions, added at the end of a book or other publication.

I forgot to mention how much I loved the pieces about Pride and Prejudice and Jane Austen. As many of you know, I’m a huge Jane Austen fan, so all the nods towards the beloved Jane and her works made me go in crazy fangirl mode. The fact that Jen Turano put these nods into her book made me fangirl even more!

Another thing that I forgot to mention:

As many of you may know if you have read some of my blog posts, I am a big musical nerd. I just found out that In Good Company was based off of The Sound of Music; Jen’s first book, After a Fashion, was based off of My Fair Lady; and her third book, Playing the Part is loosely based off of The Phantom of the Opera. How awesome is that?!

I didn’t think it was even possible but… Jen, I love you even more!!!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

FIVE HUNDRED STARS!

Find In Good Company on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Bethany House Publishers

Connect with Jen Turano:

Jen’s Website

Jen’s Facebook Page

Jen’s Goodreads

Other Books by Jen Turano:
Ladies of Distinction:

Gentleman of Her Dreams (A Novella)

A Change of Fortune (Book 1)

A Most Peculiar Circumstance (Book 2)

A Talent for Trouble (Book 3)

A Match of Wits (Book 4)

A Class of Their Own:

After a Fashion (Book 1)

Playing the Part (Book 3)

*I received this book from Bethany House Publishers and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Bethany House and Netgalley for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Bethany House Publishers’ website*

7 thoughts on “Book Review: In Good Company by Jen Turano

Leave a Reply

