Book Review

Book Review: The Apothecary’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

“I have no longing for great wealth. For great adventure, yes, to travel widely and love deeply these things I value more than profits. Though certainly one needs enough of those to finance the former things.”

9780764204807
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher: 
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
January 1, 2009
Number of pages:
415

From the Publisher:

“Lilly Haswell remembers everything—whether she wants to, or not…

As Lilly toils in her father’s apothecary, preparing herbs and remedies by rote, she is haunted by memories of her mother’s disappearance. Villagers whisper the tale, but her father refuses to discuss it. All the while, she dreams of the world beyond—of travel and adventure and romance.

When a relative offers to host her in London, Lilly discovers the pleasures and pitfalls of fashionable society and suitors, as well as clues about her mother. But will Lilly find what she is searching for—the truth of the past and a love for the future?

Blending romance, family drama, and fascinating historical detail, The Apothecary’s Daughter is a novel to savor and share.”  

My Review:

Why has it taken me so long to read the rest of Julie Klassen’s novels? Honestly?! The Girl in the Gatehouse is the first Julie Klassen book, and also the first Christian Historical Fiction book, that I have ever read. When The Dancing Master was released,  it was the first book I reviewed when I started book reviewing/blogging (there’s a whole story behind my experience with those two). Then The Secret of Pembrooke Park was released and I read that but those are the only three that I have ever read.

I don’t understand myself.

Well, now I am making myself to read them all so I can take them out of my TBR pile.

I’m getting sidetracked so onto the book review!

This book was incredibly intriguing!

It kind of reminded me of Northanger Abbey in the sense that it has similar storylines where the heroine is invited to go reside with another family for a period of time to indulge in the city pleasures and be involved in the social season. That’s as far as the similarities go, though.

One thing I loved about this novel, and Julie Klassen as an author, is the in-depth knowledge about nineteenth century professions, traditions, and other interesting facts. This novel focuses a lot on the apothecary profession and I learned so much! Julie lists ingredients, popular treatments, how stuff was prepared – so much cool information! Trust me, some of the treatments that you will read about will make you cringe and thanking God that there are better alternatives nowadays! 😉

I loved Lilly’s story and her as a character! She’s strong, intelligent, and has a good head on her shoulders.  As for the man she ends up with, I can’t give that away because, let me just say, she has a lot of suitors. It’s not too confusing being written that way, in fact, it has you turning the pages faster as you will be wondering which guy she ends up with.

The Apothecary’s Daughter is full of mystery, suspense, and intrigue! You won’t want to put this book down! I sure didn’t!

If you choose to read The Apothecary’s Daughter, I hope you enjoy it!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ FOUR STARS!

Find The Apothecary’s Daughter on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Bethany House Publishers

Connect with Julie Klassen:

Julie’s Website

Julie’s Facebook Page

Julie’s Goodreads

Other Books by Julie Klassen:

Lady of Milkweed Manor

The Silent Governess

The Girl in the Gatehouse

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall

The Tutor’s Daugher

The Dancing Master

The Secret of Pembrooke Park

Lady Maybe 

The Painter’s Daughter 

*Reviewer’s personal copy. *

*Photo borrowed from Bethany House Publisher’s website*

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Apothecary’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

Leave a Reply

