Book Review

Book Review: Lady Maybe by Julie Klassen

 lmcb

GenreFiction, Romance,  Historical
Publisher: 
Berkley
Publication Date:
July 7, 2015
Number of pages: 
389

From the Publisher:

One final cry…“God almighty, help us!” and suddenly her world shifted violently, until a blinding collision scattered her mind and shook her bones. Then, the pain. The freezing water. And as all sensation drifted away, a hand reached for hers, before all faded into darkness…

Now she has awakened as though from some strange, suffocating dream in a warm and welcoming room she has never seen before, and tended to by kind, unfamiliar faces. But not all has been swept away. She recalls fragments of the accident. She remembers a baby. And a ring on her finger reminds her of a lie.

But most of all, there is a secret. And in this house of strangers she can trust no one but herself to keep it.”  

My Review:

Woah.

That’s all I can say.

Just, woah!

I did not expect any of that!!

I will say that, at first, I had trouble finding interest in the book – it’s a tad slow-going in the beginning but once you get several chapters in you won’t want to put it down!

There are plot twists around every corner and when you least expect them,

BAM!!!!

They jump out at you!!

Just like that.

I know that the synopsis is incredibly vague, but you will have to trust me! This book is so totally worth it! I can’t say much more without fear of giving anything away.

Julie drew me into this story to the point where I felt like I was apart of it. You know when you read a book and the character does something stupid and you’re like, “Why did you even consider doing that? What are you doing? No. No. Don’t do that!”

If you are:

  • Sighing
  • Nodding your head
  • Groaning
  • Facepalming
  • Or all of the above

Then you can probably relate.

But have you ever had that rare instance where you are so wrapped up in the pages of the story that the word “you” turns into the word “we”? “Why are we even considering doing that? What are we doing? No. No. We can’t do that!”

That’s what Lady Maybe did to me. I hardly ever have that happen whilst reading a book which proves how perfect this novel is!!

Secondly, I’m really not a huge fan of love triangles but Julie played this one out well! It wasn’t overly dramatic like the ones in most books I read and it was suspenseful wondering who she would end up with!

There are flashbacks in this book and also POV changes. I have talked with some who have said that they weren’t fond of these being included but I loved them! I think it adds to the suspense of it all and draws you in.

As for the overall theme: Lady Maybe has a Jane Eyre vibe to it which especially is revealed in chapter 22 and the ending.

Oh man.

Chapter 22.

From then on is extreme!!!

I’m still taken aback by the plot twists in those last chapters – I’m still trying to wrap my head around them.

Some may call this book a little risque for Christian fiction but I found that this element made the story seem more real. I read so many Christian fiction books that are so innocent to the point where the story doesn’t seem real. I also found that it may open the eyes of unbelievers as they see what’s wrong with their actions.

Gaah! I can’t stop thinking about this book! It was sooooo compelling! Definitely one of the best that I have read this year!

This book is nothing like the others that Julie has done but I thought that it is by far her best yet! She did a phenomenal job! You go girl! I can’t wait for The Painter’s Daughter in December!!!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ FIVE STARS!

If you like Jane Eyre, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, and/or regency fiction, you will love this book! Definitely one I recommend.

Find Lady Maybe on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Berkley Publishers

Connect with Julie Klassen:

Julie’s Website

Julie’s Facebook Page

Julie’s Goodreads

Other Books by Julie Klassen:

Lady of Milkweed Manor

The Apothecary’s Daughter

The Silent Governess

The Girl in the Gatehouse

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall

The Tutor’s Daugher

The Dancing Master

The Secret of Pembrooke Park

The Painter’s Daughter (Coming December 2015)

*I received this book from Berkley Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Berkley for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Berkley Publishers’ website*

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lady Maybe by Julie Klassen

Leave a Reply

