Book Review

Book Review: The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson

He skirted the edge of the forest, letting Donner go as fast as he wished, letting the cold air sting his face, hoping it would distract his thoughts from the beautiful peasant girl with the golden hair and blue eyes.”

51CYvNJRvZL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Series: Hagenheim (Book 6)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Historical, Fantasy, Fairy Tale
Publisher:
Thomas Nelson
Publication Date:
November 17, 2015
Number of pages: 
320

From the Publisher:
“The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower…

Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man. She paints beautiful flowering vines on the walls of her plaster houses. She sings so sweetly she can coax even a beast to sleep. But there are two things she is afraid her mother might never allow her to do: learn to read and marry.

Fiercely devoted to Rapunzel, her mother is suspicious of every man who so much as looks at her daughter and warns her that no man can be trusted. After a young village farmer asks for Rapunzel’s hand in marriage, Mother decides to move them once again—this time, to the large city of Hagenheim.

The journey proves treacherous, and after being rescued by a knight—Sir Gerek—Rapunzel, in turn, rescues him farther down the road. As a result, Sir Gerek agrees to repay his debt to Rapunzel by teaching her to read. Could there be more to him than his arrogance and desire to marry for riches and position?

As Rapunzel acclimates to life in a new city, she uncovers a mystery that will forever change her life. In this Rapunzel story unlike any other, a world of secrets and treachery are about to be revealed after seventeen years. How will Rapunzel finally take control of her own destiny? And who will prove faithful to a lowly peasant girl with no one to turn to?”

My Review:

Guyyysss!!!!

(I wonder how many times my book reviews are going to start with that one word?)

This is my favorite new release of the year!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

I keep saying this every time I read an amazing book but then I read another and I change my mind!

I’m fangirling so hard!

Here’s my special story of the week:

Last week, I hear from some other bloggers that they got their advanced reader copy in the mail so I spend days staring at the road waiting for my book to come.

Days pass and I’m left hearing about how perfect it is and not having it in my possession.

Then, I get home from a long day of teaching and my dad mentions something about having a package.

WHAT?!

I bolt inside, completely forgetting the fatigue that overtook me moments before, and rip open the box that is sitting on the countertop of our kitchen. (Hmmm… How many of you remember a story similar to that back in April? 😉 )

This is staring at me in all of its beauty:

 

It’s a hardcover!!

A hardcover, people!!

I can’t contain myself.

Upon receiving it, I told myself that I would only read the first chapter just out of curiosity.

Ha!

That one chapter turned into three, which turned into ten, which turned into reading through the whole entire book and not sleeping nor getting any homework done that day.

Oooops. 😉

Okay.

Review time…

That’s what you are here for, after all.

This book was slightly amazing.

Who am I kidding?!

It was awesome!!

I have been waiting for this book for years.

Seriously.

From the time that Melanie had the ideas a few years back, I think it was when “The Captive Maiden” was set to release, I was anticipating this release.

Despite the fact that I am an adult (by age, not by choice), I am extremely passionate about the animated Disney movie, “Tangled“. I will never deny my obsession with that movie. I adore it. ❤

Anyway, with that being the case, knowing the Melanie Dickerson was going to release a Rapunzel story made me go crazy waiting for it.

Well, now it is here, I have read it, I really want to read it again but instead of doing so, I’m going to relive it through my friends and family. So, I am going to make every single person in my acquaintance read it.

That includes you, dear reader.

😉

Now, let’s get down to the very particular details as to why I adored this book with all of my being.

Uno: It’s a Rapunzel re-telling. Need I say more?

2: The cover rocks!

Trois: Rapunzel is as stubborn as a mule, is smart, cunning, and can throw knives. Can you say girl power? I love her character so much! She’s definitely one of my favorites of Melanie’s heroines. ❤

Vier: Many of the main characters from the past books reappear in “The Golden Braid” which makes it all the more exciting. The only main characters that aren’t talked about are those in “The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest” – but Thornbeck is still mentioned and that made me squeal.

Cinque: “The Golden Braid” ties in with “The Princess Spy”. So, some of the action that happens in “The Princess Spy” is told from a different point of view in “The Golden Braid” – it’s like getting a behind the scenes look into the stories.

Zes: The book will keep you invested the entire time. There are plot twists and cliff hangers hiding in every corner, ready to jump out at you when you least expect them.

I really don’t know what else to tell you about this book that will convince you to read it.

Melanie takes fairy tales, adds a little twist of her own, and makes the most invigorating, beautiful works of medieval fantasy fiction that you will ever read!

Trust me, these books are definitely worth your time!

This phenomenal book is set to release November 17, 2015. Pre-order it using the links below!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

FIVE STARS!!

Ummmm… if you didn’t pick up how much I loved this book from the review, I suppose I’ll tell you again. It was PERFECT! My favorite of all of Melanie’s books!

This book is clean, with a little romance and action sequences that do leave some people injured with mentions of blood, but that’s it. I’d give it a G – PG rating. Nothing to worry about here. 🙂

Find The Golden Braid on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Thomas Nelson

Connect with Melanie Dickerson:

Melanie’s Website

Melanie’s Facebook Page

Melanie’s Goodreads

Other Books by Melanie Dickerson:

The Healer’s Apprentice

The Merchant’s Daughter

The Fairest Beauty

The Captive Maiden

The Princess Spy

The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest

A Spy’s Devotion (Coming February 2016)

The Beautiful Pretender (Coming May 2016)

*I received this book from Thomas Nelson and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Thomas Nelson and Netgalley for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Thomas Nelson’s website*

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson

  1. So, so happy you liked it so much, Rachael!!! Thank you for this wonderful review! Yay! (My instinct was that it was one of my best books, but it’s really hard to judge when you’re the author! Plus, no one trusts your opinion.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

