Book Review

Book Review: The Sound of Diamonds by Rachelle Rea

“What did love sound like? Like sobs in the night drenching Dirk’s shirt, like the soft shushing sounds he made that became a balm to my battered soul, like the way his heartbeat accompanied the way he rocked me back and forth.”

The-Sound-of-Diamonds2-533x800

Series: Steadfast Love (Book #1)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher:
WhiteFire Publishing
Publication Date:
June 15, 2015
Number of pages: 
322

From the Publisher:
In Reformation-era England, a converted rogue wants to restore his honor at whatever cost. Running from a tortured past, Dirk Godfrey knows he has only one chance at redemption.
An independent Catholic maiden seeking refuge in the Low Countries finds herself at the center of the Iconoclastic Fury. Jaded by tragedy, Gwyneth’s only hope of getting home is to trust the man she hates, and she soon discovers her poor vision is not the only thing that has been blinding her. But the home Gwyneth knew is not what she once thought. When a dark secret and a twisted plot for power collide in a castle masquerading as a haven, will the saint and the sinner hold to hope…or be overcome?

My Review:

*Note: This post may contain spoilers (depending on what you consider spoilers). If you don’t want to know any of the suspenseful content or the romantic elements between Gwyn and a certain someone, then scroll to the end.*

Some people have their favorite books.

Some have their favorite authors.

The ones who really love to read have their favorite publishers.

Then there are people like me… People who, not only love all of the above, but go as far as to have their favorite editors, publicists, and other various employees of the publishing world.

Yes, I do read through the acknowledgements looking for certain people that I have become familiar with through blogging. It’s a weird habit of mine. If someone I admire or am acquainted with is part of the book team, I get excited and know that it will be a great book.

The point I’m trying to make is that Rachelle Rea is one of those people. I love her work as an editor and when I saw she was writing her first series I was overjoyed (plus, her name is close to ‘Rachael’ sooo… 😉 )!

I know I’m a little behind on the rave being that this book was released last year but better late than never, right?

I have never read any books set during the English Reformation (though, Melanie Dickerson‘s come close) and don’t usually gravitate towards that genre. However, because this book was written by Rachelle, I decided to break out of my comfort zone.

Oh. My. Word!

It was awesome!!!

To be honest, I didn’t think that I would like this book as much as I did (but I’m always skeptical when it comes to a genre I’m unfamiliar with).

Because I’m predictable, I’ll start with examining the characters:

Gwyneth was so strong, feisty, and headstrong which are traits that I love in a lead female character. Who wants timid, weak, fainthearted women when you can read about the spunky ones? One small element of her character that I thought was unique was that she had glasses and her vision problems were incorporated into the story. It can be such a small matter of little importance, but things like vision problems make the characters more realistic.

I also adored Dirk and his strong and humble disposition. I can almost imagine him as the calm in her storm — she deals with so much throughout the story but he is constantly there by her side. Also, that name! I don’t know how such a perfect name was chosen but it is nothing but suitable for his character. I love it so much!

In addition to them, I thought that all of the supporting characters were well-developed and compelling individuals to journey along with through the length of the story. They all had their own important roles and made the story so much more fascinating.

Now we talk about the plot of this enthralling book…

Actually, I just talk about it and you deal with my ramblings…

But we wouldn’t have it any other way, would we? 😉

I didn’t think so.

Now I talk about the plot of this enthralling book…

*dum da duuuummmm*

This book was filled with suspense from the beginning to the very last page. It contains everything from kidnappings and murders and secrets — oh my!

I tell you, this was me the entire time:

SPN_GASP-gif

(Partially due to all the suspense but I will admit that some of it had to do with the many adorable scenes between Dirk and Gwen).

What else?

Ohhh, of course! More plot content!

I’m not a fan of learning history through textbooks and dreary, monotone lecturers or speakers but if there is history in a novel, then yes please!

And if you love history, especially about the English Reformation, then you will love this book!

I learned so much in regards to the period and the tension between Catholics and Protestants — it was truly compelling!

Last (but definitely not least), I loved watching Gwyn’s relationship with God develop as she fought through many trials and was able to learn who he is through her hardships. The fact that her many friends strived to help her establish a relationship with Him truly warmed my heart.

*sigh*

This book was awesome!

I can’t wait to read the next one!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

FIVE STARS!!

PG-13: This book did have some violent content that could be gruesome for younger audiences.

If you like Melanie Dickerson, Dina Sleiman, or any historical novel around that period, you will love this book! Or, if you’re interested in the English Reformation, you will also love this book! 🙂

Find The Sound of Diamonds on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

WhiteFire Publishing

Connect with Rachelle Rea:

Rachelle’s Website

Rachelle’s Facebook Page

Rachelle’s Goodreads

Other Books by Rachelle Rea:

The Sound of Silver (Book 2)

The Sound of Emeralds (Book 3)

*I received this book from Rachelle Rea and WhiteFire Publishing in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Rachelle and WhiteFire Publishing for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Goodreads*

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sound of Diamonds by Rachelle Rea

  1. My goodness, this review made my morning, Rachael! Thank you so very much for taking the time to read Dirk and Gwyn’s story. I adore that you love his name–it’s one of the things that I like about him, too!

    And that gif! So fun! I am so thankful for this fun review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

