Book Review

Book Review: The Thorn Keeper by Pepper D. Basham

“Nothing? How little you know of the heart to forget. It never forgets. Should mind and body fail, the heart remembers.”

12087031_10207821471555426_8740974813621026387_o

Series: Penned in Time (Book #2)
Genre: 
Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher:
Vinspire Publishing
Publication Date:
February 28, 2016
Number of pages:
402

From the Publisher:

With her past in shambles, how can she fashion a future of hope?

Catherine Dougall’s past of manipulation has left her future in threads. With a new faith, she longs to take the remnants of her life and make something beautiful, but shame, societies’ judgements, and the natural consequences of unplanned pregnancy test her newfound hope. Dr. David Ross doesn’t help either. His kindness, sacrifice, and tenderness tempt her to impossible dreams. A fallen woman doesn’t merit a fairytale.

David Ross has made every effort to keep his life above reproach. His passion for the sick pump fresh purpose through his choices, but without financial support to maintain his war hospital, all is lost. When his notorious aunt offers an easy solution, David is tempted to give in to her demands, but his growing affection for the reformed flirt, Catherine Dougall, unwinds the careful wall around his heart and offers an unexpected choice.

When the worst of war tears them apart, can love renew the memory of what is lost or will tragedy steal away their hope forever?

From the beautiful Derbyshire countryside, to the trenches of World War One, Catherine and David must learn to trust in a God who designs a masterpiece out of brokenness and fashions hope in the most unlikely places.”

My Review:

Why hello, lovely reader!

tumblr_md96zvYSah1rfwoh9o1_250

It’s book talk time!! And I get to talk about one of my new favorites by one of my favorites! What a fun ordeal, isn’t it?

This book! Oh, this book!

I.. Well… I’m not sure what to say… Umm –

You wouldn’t mind if I composed my entire review out of Downton Abbey memes and GIFs, would you? Because, quite honestly…

dowager-countess-violet-crawley-downton-abbey

Plus, this book does possess Downton Abbey similarities, so it may help get you in the mood for the book if you’re a Downton Abbey fan! Or, perhaps, if your a Pepper Basham fan, it may lead you to watch Downton Abbey! Either way, I’d be pleased. 🙂

There were moments while reading this where I was like:

anna-downton-abbey-gif

Most of these consisted of Catherine being snarky or David being adorably charming (which was quite often).

However, there were also many moments where I was holding my book, looking like this:

tumblr_lx0k5ffzck1qah7jwo1_500

Oh, the tears and the heartbreak involved in reading this book!

You’re going to want a grandfatherly, warm Carson hug many, many times. Or, rather, you’ll wish Carson was existent in the book to give Catherine one of his special hugs.

article-2408129-1B8EA5D5000005DC-65_634x478

How about we just go for Carson hugs all around! Eh?

Aaaand, now I’m all out of Downton Abbey memes so I guess it’s time to try to translate my emotions into words.

I have never come across an author who can use words so eloquently and cover such gritty subjects as well as Pepper does. To be truthful, I’m a girl who loves quotes and if I can find phrases that make me laugh, cry, or that I can simply relate to, I find myself enjoying the book more… and I think that is why I love Pepper’s books so much. She is so good at using imagery and expressing things using her words in ways that I never could. I find myself reading and highlighting sentences and even paragraphs that I find humorous, beautiful, or relate able (On my Kindle, mind you. I would never write in my books).

Also, Pepper takes difficult situations like an unplanned pregnancy or sexual abuse (in the case of her first book of this series, The Thorn Bearer) and deals with the gritty reality of them. Though, it’s not all suffering and turmoil through the whole course of the book. Pepper also writes about the beauty in these difficult situations as her characters learn about God’s grace, forgiveness, and healing.

Speaking of characters, Catherine and David are on my list of favorite fictional couples ever! Catherine is a feisty, determined, strong-willed woman who has a soft heart hidden beneath the guarded walls she has built up around herself. I’ll admit, I wasn’t fond of her in The Thorn Bearer but she’s now one of my favorite fictional heroines. I truly admire her for all that she has dealt with. As for David, he’s so tender-hearted and has such a soft disposition, it’s hard to not love him. Plus, PEPPERMINT!

*sigh*

Read the book and you will understand. 😉

And the ending! I did not expect the last couple chapters. I swear, this was me the whole time:

6NFq7

If you haven’t read the book yet, you’re probably looking at your screen like this:

a-history-of-violet-downton-abbeys-queen-of-quips1

What do you mean by this peppermint stuff?! What happens in the last couple chapters?! Tell me more!!

Well, guess what, dearest reader. I’m not going to tell you any more. Now, if you want to change your facial expression from that of the Dowager Countess’s to the charming Matthew Crawley’s:

downton-abbey

(who obviously knows what I’m talking about) … then you should read the book!!

(I bet Matthew read the book!!)

(Notice, I’ll do anything to persuade you!) 😉

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

FIVE STARS!!

This book was AWESOME!!! If you like learning about World War I, love Downton Abbey, or just need a good romance novel to read, this is your book!

PG-13: Note that this is a romance novel and it can get passionate at times (nothing too overboard). So, I’d recommend it to older teens and adults. Just a fair warning. 🙂

Find The Thorn Keeper on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Vinspire Publishing

Other Books by Pepper Basham:
Penned in Time Series:

The Thorn Bearer (Book 1)

The Thorn Healer (Book 3, Coming November 2016)

Mitchell’s Crossroad Series:

A Twist of Faith (Coming April 6, 2016)

Connect with Pepper Basham:

Pepper’s Website

Pepper’s Facebook Page

Pepper’s Goodreads

*I received this book from Pepper Basham in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Pepper, for the privilege to review this book! *

*The Thorn Keeper cover borrowed from Pepper Basham* 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Thorn Keeper by Pepper D. Basham

    1. I’m SO glad!!! I kept editing and revising it after I posted it because I felt like it was missing something. But, I’m glad it made you laugh! 😀 That was my goal!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

