Book Review

Book Review: Her One and Only by Becky Wade

“It had all taken just a handful of minutes, but those minutes had been tragic minutes. A person could live a million ordinary minutes that changed nothing. Then a few tragic minutes could change everything. They could divide a life into before and after.

9780764211102

Series: Porter Family (Book 4)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher: 
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
May 3, 2016
Number of pages: 
368

From the Publisher:

“After ten years in the NFL, superstar Gray Fowler is accustomed to obsessive fans. But when Gray starts receiving death threats from a stalker, his team hires an executive protection agency to guard him until the culprit is caught. Dealing with bodyguards 24/7 is a headache, especially when one of them is a young, beautiful woman. How can a female half his size possibly protect him better than he can protect himself?

Dru Porter is a former Marine, an expert markswoman, and a black belt–none of which saved her from disaster on her last assignment. In order to rebuild her tarnished reputation, she’s determined to find Gray’s stalker and, since relationships between agents and clients are forbidden, avoid a romantic attachment between herself and the rugged football player with the mysterious past.

Yet every secret that leads Dru closer to the stalker also draws her closer to Gray. As the danger escalates, they’ll survive only if they can learn to trust their lives–and their hearts–to one another.”

My Review:

Guys, I have so much love for this book, it’s unreal. 

I’ve said it a few times before in some of my other book reviews, but I’m a strong believer in girl power. I love books with women that are strong, independent, and can kick butt like any man – Dru Porter is the perfect representation of this type of woman! There comes a time when reading about the man swooping in to save the woman and then having her fall even more in love with him because he makes her feel safe and secure becomes tiresome… especially when it’s in almost every Christian fiction book I read. Sometimes they will change it up and she’ll be a strong independent woman but when something goes wrong she will claim that she’s tired of being strong all the time or he will save her in a dire situation and she will be thankful for his bravery; even those stories can become tiresome at times.

I was worried that this book would follow the second, typical pattern. I was afraid that it would be ruined by Dru being caught in a compromising position and Gray coming in and saving her, despite the fact that she is completely capable of handling herself because she is awesome. 

But it didn’t! This book went its own direction and Dru dealt with every situation using the training and skills that she had acquired throughout her career making it much more realistic than most books. The girl finally saved the day! Go girl power! It makes me happy just thinking about it! 

I think Dru is one of my favorite females in the world of fiction. She is a bodyguard (or should I say, executive protection agent), she was in the Marines, she is skilled in physical combat, she rides a motorcycle, and she’s as witty as they come. I adored her!

As for Gray (I love his name!), he wasn’t my favorite love interest but I didn’t dislike him either. He was hilarious when it came to witty comments and sarcastic remarks and I think he complimented Dru well, loosening up her character and all. Though, he’s a football player who lives a life of luxury with tons of girlfriends and parties and I’ve never been a fan of the jock type. On the other hand, these things are what push the story forward because Gray realizes that he can’t find fulfillment in these things and only in Jesus Christ which is awesome! So, it takes a while to love him but I think that’s okay. 

I’ve read through a few reviews from others who didn’t like the idea of Gray drinking alcohol, partying, and having a line of girlfriends, and if this is worrying you already, I’ll reassure you. It’s not incredibly explicit. The scenes are short and do not encourage his lifestyle. The book would not be at all realistic if this wasn’t included in the book – he doesn’t dedicate his life to the Lord until later on in the story and you can’t accurately develop a nonchristian football player if you don’t show his lifestyle and how unfulfilling it is for him. So, I think it’s absolutely ridiculous to be upset about these elements because it’s what makes the story realistic and meaningful, especially since it may be able to reach out to nonbelievers who struggle with some of the same issues and could relate and learn from Gray. 

So, on top of the awesome characters and realistic elements in the story, I loved the suspense in it! I don’t recall any of Becky’s other books being as suspenseful as this one but I think she wrote it well. I was racking my brain trying to figure out how individual characters fit into the mystery and aaaaahhh!!! I had a handful of possible suspects but I didn’t know how they fit in and who the actual one was. It was crazy!!! 

It made me happy to see how the Porter boys all we’re doing and where their lives were now, especially Ty! He will always be my favorite fictional man! I got excited every time he appeared in the book, I just love him so much! I’m so sad that this series is finished and I won’t get to see these characters develop anymore but I’m eagerly looking forward to whatever Becky Wade has in store next.

Thank you, Becky, for creating such a wonderful series with some of the most memorable characters!

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★

Four and a half stars!

This book was amazing! It was a perfect blend of romance, suspense, and kick-butt girl power. If you like suspenseful yet romantic stories about independent women who can make grown men cry, this is for you! 😉

Excerpt:

Click here for a glimpse at the first chapter of Her One and Only.

Find Her One and Only on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Bethany House Publishers

Connect with Becky Wade:

Becky’s Website

Becky’s Facebook Page

Becky’s Instagram

Becky’s Twitter

Becky’s Goodreads

Other Books by Becky Wade:

My Stubborn Heart

Porter Family Series:

Undeniably Yours (Book 1)

Meant to Be Mine (Book 2)

A Love Like Ours (Book 3)

*I received this book from Litfuse in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Litfuse for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Bethany House Publisher’s website*

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Her One and Only by Becky Wade

Leave a Reply

