Book Review

Book Review: The Isaac Project by Sarah Monzon

“Rebekah Anne, sometimes in life we fall down, and sometimes life pushes us down. Either way, we’ve got to pick ourselves back up and brush ourselves off. No matter how you feel or what someone else might tell you, you’re a child of the King. And that makes you God’s princess. And you’re my princess too.”

27812440


Genre
Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher:
Radiant Publications
Publication Date:
September 1, 2015
Number of pages: 288

From the Publisher:

Becky Sawyer’s life unravels in a single day. Not only does she catch her boyfriend, the man she hoped to marry, lip-locked with another woman, she also receives the gut-wrenching news that her grandfather, the man who raised her, is dying. His last wish? To see her happily married. Heartbroken, Becky seeks inspiration in the pages of the Holy Scriptures. And finds it in the story of Isaac and Rebekah.

If love couldn’t keep his parents together, Luke Masterson wonders what will make a marriage last. He decides to steer clear of all women—especially crazy ones like Becky Sawyer, who employs a friend to find her a husband. But when he feels the dogged promptings of the Holy Spirit to move across the country and marry a complete stranger, it seems love has little to do with it anyway.

With commitment their only foundation, and love constantly thwarted, can an arranged marriage find happiness in the twenty-first century?”

My Review:

I’ve been stuck in a reading slump for months.

Literally.

I haven’t been able to concentrate on a single book and instead have been caught up in the stress and business of life.

Until now.

Apparently I hadn’t been picking up the right books, then I remembered that I had this one and decided to try something different than what I’ve been recently been trying to read.

The Isaac Project pulled me in right away, captivating me with its distinct characters, enthralling story line, and humorous prose. I usually wouldn’t go for a story this different…”An arranged marriage in contemporary fiction? Let’s save that for historical and Amish fiction. That would never work.” So I would say.

Yet, it does work, oddly enough.

I think that’s the beauty of this story, it employs outlandish ideas like having the main character have her best friend arrange her marriage for the sake of fulfilling her grandfather’s dying wish and a whirlwind romance that would rarely happen in real life. It takes the reader on an unrealistic yet exciting journey that they can explore through fiction. While reading the book, I was constantly aware of how unfeasible the circumstance was but I loved living in a fictional world where even the most unusual situations are possible.

So, if you read the synopsis and had the reaction of, “Ummm… this just seems odd” (as mine was) do not be swayed by the plot. You’re definitely going to want to read this one! It’s like a mix of Jen Turano and Becky Wade… and you may know how much I love Jen and Becky’s books! So that’s saying something! 🙂

Another thing that is a little different about this book is the fact that it’s written in first person. Usually, that’s a tough way to write – especially with two points of view – and sometimes even hard to read, but Sarah managed it incredibly well. I really didn’t even notice until a few chapters into it and I actually really enjoyed reading it in first person!

I adored Luke. He was so charming, steadfast, patient, and handsome… also, a firefighter. You cannot go wrong with a firefighter! 😉

Rebekah’s grandfather was also a favorite of mine. He seemed so gentle, calming, and wise – if he was real, I would love to know him. It broke my heart that he had to go through so many difficult health issues.

Sarah also made sure that her… side characters? Non-main characters? Unimporta- NO!

a7dc50d5-01f4-4a6a-8686-a3cbec3562cc
Oy with the poodles already!

What is the term?!

SUPPORTING CHARACTERS!

Sorry…

Sarah also made sure that her supporting characters were well developed with their own very special personalities. There was the nurse, the boy Luke tutored, his mother, and my personal favorite – the courthouse clerk lady. An example:

Two little lovebirds. I knew it the moment I saw you walk through that door. Gladys, I said to myself, if those two aren’t in love and coming for a marriage license, then you ain’t no wiser than a screen door on a submarine, I said. Yes, sir. You done got that twinkle in your eye.

Exactly.

I read that scene multiple times because of how much it amused me. I think especially because that’s the type of character I would play in my highschool theatre performances. 😉

All in all, I loved this story and really wish I read it sooner so that I could have been apart of the hype that was all over my social media during its release. This debut novel earns an A+!

If you want to meet Sarah, she will be attending the Christian Fiction Readers Retreat in Nashville, TN on August 24th. Other authors appearing are: Pepper Basham, Becky Wade, Tamera Alexander, Laura Frantz, Julie Lessman, and many more! There are very few spots left so be sure to hurry on over and register ASAP!

img_0391-1
Click here for more details!
Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★

Find The Isaac Project on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Connect with Sarah Monzon:

Sarah’s Website

Sarah’s Facebook Page

Sarah’s Goodreads

Sarah’s Twitter

Other Books by Sarah Monzon:

Carrington Family:

Finders Keepers (Book 1)

*I received this book from Sarah Monzon in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you, Sarah for the privilege to review this book! *

*Photo borrowed from Goodreads.*

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Isaac Project by Sarah Monzon

Leave a Reply

