Book Review

Book Review: A Lady of Esteem by Kristi Ann Hunter (A Novella)

“What was she thinking? He searched her eyes, looking for any spark of interest. Something in her expression that told him maybe, just maybe, she wondered about him as he wondered about her.”

9781441228796.jpg

Series: Hawthorne House (Book #0.5)
Genre
Fiction, Romance, Historical
Publisher: 
Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date:
July 7, 2015
Number of pages:
159

From the Publisher:

“Miss Amelia Stalwood may live in London at her absent guardian’s townhouse, but she’s never actually met any nobility, and instead of aristocrats, her closest friends are servants. Quite by happenstance, she’s introduced to the Hawthorne family and their close family friend, Anthony, the reformed Marquis of Raebourne. They welcome her into their world, but just as she’s beginning to gain some confidence and even suspect she may have caught Anthony’s eye, she’s blindsided by an unexpected twist in her situation accompanied by nasty rumors. Will she lose her reputation when the world that has only just accepted her turns its back on her, or will she rest in the support of the friends who’ve become like family and the man who’s shared his faith and captured her heart?

A Lady of Esteem is an e-only novella that gives an exciting introduction to Kristi Ann Hunter’s new Regency romance series about the aristocratic Hawthorne family! Includes an extended excerpt of Kristi’s debut full-length novel, A Noble Masquerade.”

My Review:

Who knew a novella could be so intriguing?!

Whoever came up with them is one smart cookie!

And I really like cookies…

Especially chocolate chip…

But that’s not the point!

The point is that they’re free (usually), short, and they let you dip your toes into the author’s writing to see if you find them intriguing enough to buy their books.

Plus, they make me feel like I’ve made progress on my mountain of a TBR pile when I finish them in such a short time. 😉

Honestly, it makes me so sad that I didn’t pick this novella up sooner because I would have been raving all over this author and her series the moment each book released! I still have time for her third book that releases in January, though! 😀

The fact that this is a novella (which aren’t usually nearly as good as full novels) written by a debut author blew me AWAY! A Lady of Esteem was filled with humor, romance, and wit – I could not get enough of it! I flew through it without putting it down for a single break. I fell in love with the characters right away, they were so much fun – I truly wish they were real. Especially the main characters! Amelia was the perfect mix of awkward and adorable and was so well written. I’m not a huge fan of the name Anthony, but the lead hero made me fall in love with the name and the beholder of it as well. He was so very charming and sweet – I wish he were real. It brings a quote from Austenland to mind:

“I’m single because apparently the only good men are fictional!”

‘Tis so very true…

As for Kristi’s writing style, it is out of this world! She’s a phenomenal writer! I’m so very excited to read A Noble Masquerade because I know I will see all of her wit and humor in even more depth through a full novel.

Even by simply reading her novella, I can already tell you that Kristi Ann Hunter is an author to keep your eye out for!

If you want to meet Kristi, she will be attending the Christian Fiction Readers Retreat in Nashville, TN on August 24th. Other authors appearing are: Pepper Basham, Becky Wade, Tamera Alexander, Laura Frantz, Julie Lessman, and many more! There are very few spots left so be sure to hurry on over and register ASAP!

img_0391-1
Click here for more details!

 

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

If you like Jen Turano, regency novels, romance, and laughing… a lot – you will love this book!

Find A Lady of Esteem on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Christianbook.com

Bethany House Publishers

Connect with Kristi Ann Hunter:

Kristi’s Website

Kristi’s Facebook Page

Kristi’s Instagram

Kristi’s Twitter

Kristi’s Goodreads

Other Books by Kristi Ann Hunter:

Hawthorne House Series:

A Noble Masquerade (Book 1)

An Elegant Façade (Book 2)

An Uncommon Courtship (Book 3, coming January 2017)

* This was my personal copy. All opinions are my own. *

*Photo borrowed from Bethany House Publisher’s website*

One thought on “Book Review: A Lady of Esteem by Kristi Ann Hunter (A Novella)

Leave a Reply

