Book Review

Book Review: Dance Over Me by Candee Fick

“”I feel like that sometimes when I play. As if I can’t play loud enough or long enough to find the right notes.” He ran a hand through his hair. “Like a writer who says there aren’t enough words.”
Dani’s heart pounded with her earlier frustration. “Maybe that’s why it’ll take eternity to express our worship.””
15801639_1210707289009727_1963051622_n.jpg


Genre:
Christian Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Publisher: 
Bling! Romance
Publication Date:
September 19, 2016
Number of pages:
268

From the Publisher:

“Danielle Lefontaine, a fledgling actress raised to the lullaby of Broadway, searches for her long-lost brother and her place on the stage, but a jealous cast member and numerous fruitless leads threaten to drop the curtain on her dreams and shine a spotlight on her longing for a place to belong.

Meanwhile, Alex Sheridan is living his dream except for someone to share it with. When Dani dances into his life, he hopes he’s found the missing piece to his heart but fears the bright lights of the stage could steal her away. Will the rhythm of dancing feet usher in their deepest desires or leave them stranded in the wings?”

My Review:

Once again, I’m left speechless by the story a book presents.

I didn’t really know what to expect when I was given this book but it definitely was not this.

From the moment I opened the book, I was lost in the characters, the story, the suspense, and the humor. I absolutely loved this story!!!

There was a variety of characters with individual traits and personalities that made them unique. Alex is a complete charmer! He’s the perfect representation of a Godly young man that women should seek and men should strive to be. Also, he’s got quite a sense of humor. I also adored his grandmother who was so incredibly sweet and cunning! When I’m old, I want to be like her–matchmaking everyone and coming up with plots for them to get together. 😉

The story was captivating! On top of journeying through a career in musical theatre, Dani is desperately seeking out her brother that she was separated from through adoption. I fell so in love with everything about it!

I was in theatre through all of middle school and high school so this book made me miss being on stage so much but I was also able to live through Dani’s character and enjoy it as much as she did! I’ve seen a lot of the famous musicals but, for some reason, I’ve never watched 42nd Street or even listened to the soundtrack so I’m obviously going to have to because it sounds AMAZING!!! Everything pertaining to theatre was so spot on–the theatre lingo, the exhaustion that comes with being in a show, and the feeling of being on stage and losing yourself in your character. It was all so bittersweet.

One of the greatest, most impactful things about this book was Dani’s relationship with God. Even in Christian fiction you don’t always come across characters that are so grounded in their faith. I highlighted so many things Dani said or thought and verses she quoted that stuck to me. I was uplifted and encouraged in my faith while reading this book. 

I found myself staying up late saying, “One more chapter” to myself while my eyes were burning and trying not to laugh out loud while every one was sleeping. If that doesn’t prove how much I loved this book, I don’t know what does.

If this book appeals to you in any way, please read it! And then let me know so that we can talk about how awesome it was!!! If you have read it, let’s chat in the comments! 🙂

 

Rating:

★ ★ ★ ★

If you like theatre, dancing, or simply a good read, this book is for you!

Find Dance Over Me on:

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Connect with Candee Fick:

Candee’s Website

Candee’s Facebook Page

Candee’s Instagram

Candee’s Twitter

Candee’s Goodreads 

 

Other Books by Candee Fick:

Catch of a Lifetime

View More here

 

*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*
*Photo borrowed from Goodreads*

Leave a Reply

